Archive for October 2011

Reggae legends Dandy Livingstone & Dawn Penn added to festival line up

We are delighted to announce the latest addition to next years ska fest are the legendary Jamaican singers Dandy Livingstone and Dawn Penn.

Best known for his singing, writing & producing Dandy Livingstone (aka Robert Thompson) released some all-time classic reggae tracks including the original Rudy A Message To You (later to become a phenomenal hit for The Specials), Reggae In Your Jeggae, People Get Ready, Raining In My Heart, Dr.Sure Shot and UK chart hits Suzanne Beware of The Devil and Big City.

As a producer & artist he helped establish Trojan Records, producing many acts; Rico Rodriguez, The Cimarons, The Marvels, Nicky Thomas and Tony Tribe, including his classic version of Red Red Wine. Dandy is a Jamaican music legend and we are truly honoured that he has decided to play his comeback show (first in some 40 years) at The London Intl Ska Festival 2012. Not to be missed under any circumstances!!

Dawn Penn was still at school when she recorded her first tracks for Clement ‘Coxsone’ Dodd’s Studio One label in 1967. Amongst those early recording was ‘No, No, No, (You Don’t Love Me) backed by Tommy McCook & The Skatalites, which although it was an island hit it wasn’t until Steely & Clevie’s 1991 verstion that the song became a global hit and won Dawn a Grammy nomination. Those early days also saw Dawn work with Prince Buster, Bunny Lee, Johnny Nash (yes, that’s her on bvs of Cupid) and Eddy Lovette to name a few. Dawn still continues to tour the world and record to this day and has just published her auto-biography.


London Intl Ska Fest Band Competition Update

Over 2200 votes now in for the London Intl Ska Festival 2012 Band Competition. Here’s how the top 5 looks…
01. Los Furios (Canada)
02. Jamaica 69 (Mexico)
03. Monkey Boots (Indonesia)
04. Kinky Coo Coos (Spain)
05. Akatz (Basque Country)

Well done to Los Furios for taking the lead. You can hear all 20 finalist here. To vote email your favourite band out of the 20 email their name to One vote per person. Voting closes 1st Dec’11. The winning band gets a place on the festival!